#FridayBookShare The Venetian by @Shani_Struthers #FridayReads

#FridayBookShare was created by Shelley Wilson for book lovers to share what they’re reading. The idea is to answer a few simple questions about the novel and post on Fridays.

Today, I’d like to share The Venetian, by Shani Struthers. It’s a paranormal mystery set in Venice.

First line of the book.

Touching down on Venetian soil, Louise grabbed her husband’s arm.

Recruit fans by adding the book blurb.

From the author of the bestselling Psychic Surveys series, comes a brand new series of STANDALONE books, set in and around the world’s most haunted places and blending fact with fiction. In Book One discover Venice, ‘the world’s most haunted city’ and Poveglia, in the Venetian Lagoon, ‘the world’s most haunted island’ – if you dare! Perfect for fans of Dennis Lehane’s Shutter Island, Susan Hill’s The Woman in Black and du Maurier’s Don’t Look Now.

‘Welcome to the asylum…’

2015
Their troubled past behind them, married couple, Rob and Louise, visit Venice for the first time together, looking forward to a relaxing weekend. Not just a romantic destination, it’s also the ‘most haunted city in the world’ and soon, Louise finds herself the focus of an entity she can’t quite get to grips with – a ‘veiled lady’ who stalks her.

1938
After marrying young Venetian doctor, Enrico Sanuto, Charlotte moves from England to Venice, full of hope for the future. Home though is not in the city; it’s on Poveglia, in the Venetian lagoon, where she is set to work in an asylum, tending to those that society shuns. As the true horror of her surroundings reveals itself, hope turns to dust.

From the labyrinthine alleys of Venice to the twisting, turning corridors of Poveglia, their fates intertwine. Vengeance only waits for so long…

Introduce the main character using only three words.

Louise is sensitive, insecure, and troubled.

Delightful design (add the cover image of the book).

Audience appeal (who would enjoy reading this book?)

Readers who have an open mind regarding paranormal happenings, and enjoy reading chilling mysteries including ghosts will love The Venetian. It’s also suitable for people who love Venice, and historical fiction, because part of the novel deals with events which happened on a Venetian island in the 19th century. 

Your favourite line/scene.

It all starts with a painting in the hotel where Louise and Rob are staying. There is something about it that haunts Louise… 

Buy link Amazon US

Buy link Amazon UK

Read my full review here

By the way, check out Shani’s other fabulous and haunting novels such as Psychic Surveys Book One, The Haunting of Highdown Hall:

****

Follow Luccia Gray on Social Media:

Twitter

Facebook

Goodreads

Check out Luccia Gray’s Books on Amazon 

#TuesdayBookBlog The Haunting of Highdown Hall by @Shani_Struthers for #RBRT

I recently read and reviewed The Haunting of Highdown Hall by Shani Struthers for Rosie’s Book Review Team. k 1 The Haunting of Highdown Hall is Psychic Surveys Book 1.

highdown-hall

Here’s my 5-Star review.

An Engaging Paranormal mystery

Thirty-one year old, successful actress, Cynthia Hart, died of a heart attack during a dazzling birthday party at her residence, Highdown Hall, on Christmas Eve, 1958. Fifty-six years later, the present resident, Mr. Kierney, will discover her spirit hasn’t left and is causing havoc in the first floor bedrooms. He calls in the Psychic Surveys team, who will have to investigate the events leading up to her death in order to discover what’s keeping her in the land of the living.

Highdown Hall is not the only case they work on, however. They also visit a notorious mental asylum and various houses in the area, in search of lost spirits who need help moving on to the other side.

The four members of the team have varying degrees of psychic abilities. Ruby inherited the gift from her mother and her grandmother. Theo, who is retired, specialises in long distance healing. Quiet Ness, in her fifties sometimes worked with the Sussex police, and Corinna, a 21-year-old who dresses in gothic attire and also works at a pub.

Ruby, the heart and soul of Psychic Surveys, who is trying to set up a webpage for their flourishing business, meets Cash Wilkins, a website designer, and just the man she needs. Ruby thought he wouldn’t be interested in pursuing any kind of friendship with her, once she told him she was ‘a psychic surveyor’, but on the contrary, he was fascinated, genuinely interested, and perhaps a little psychic himself.

The highlight for me was when the spirit of a dead Labrador, Jed, became attached to Ruby after visiting a couple who complained of dog barking at night.

By the end of the novel, Cynthia’s case is finally solved, as a result of Ruby and Cash’s thorough investigations, and the four ‘ghost hunters’ have become six.

It was easy to be carried away by the interesting and varied stories of unhappy and tormented spirits being helped on their journeys towards the light and peace, at last. It’s an enjoyable novel for readers who have at least an open mind to the possibility of paranormal happenings.

Highdown Hall is well written, well plotted, and has engaging characters, so I’m looking forward to more of the Psychic Surveys’ extraordinary investigations.

****

shani

Shani Struthers was born and bred in the sunny seaside town of Brighton, one of the first literary conundrums Shani had to deal with was her own name – Shani can be pronounced in a variety of ways but in this instance it’s Shay-nee not Shar-ney or Shan-ni – although she does indeed know a Shanni – just to confuse matters further! Hobbies include reading and writing – so no surprises there. After graduating from Sussex University with a degree in English and American Literature, Shani became a freelance copywriter. Twenty years later, the day job includes crafting novels too. Writing both contemporary fiction and paranormal mystery, she is the author of The Runaway Year and The Runaway Ex, both published by Omnific Publishing.

Her paranormal work is published by Crooked Cat Publishing and includes Jessamine and the bestselling Psychic Surveys Book One: The Haunting of Highdown Hall and Psychic Surveys Book Two: Rise to Me, and Book Three: 44 Gilmore Street .

psychic-surveys

Shani is currently writing Book 4 of the Psychic Surveys, Old Cross Cottage (due out in April 2017)

Find out more about Shani on her blog. 

****

wp-1488284919449.jpg

Follow Luccia Gray on Social Media:

Twitter

Facebook

Goodreads

Check out Luccia Gray’s Books on Amazon 

Lucy Shares Lovely #Books! On #Facebook

I used to have three Facebook pages: a personal page, an author page, and a page for the Adult Education Centre where I work.

Now I’d like to let you know about a new, fourth Facebook page I’ve created called Lucy Shares Lovely Books 

20151208_221439-1.jpg

The purpose of this page is to let readers know about great books available.

You all know that I’m a writer who loves reading.

I started reading long before I started writing. I shamelessly admit I prefer reading to writing. Losing myself in a book is like experiencing another world.

I read avidly every day and I’d like to let you know about the books I’ve read and enjoyed, the books on my ‘to be read’ (TBR) list, and the books other trusted reviewers have read and enjoyed. I review with Brook Cottage Books and Rosie’s Book Review Team. I’ll also tell readers about new releases and offers. Join me in this exciting, literary journey.

This new Facebook page isn’t about me, it’s about other writers and books.

I’ll be gradually featuring all the books I’ve read in the last year. This week, I’m especially interested in featuring books themed around Christmas.

So far I’ve featured the following books involving Christmas:

1- What happens when Rosie house sits at Christmas and the owner’s son arrives unexpectedly to try to discover a family secret? A romantic and suspenseful novel by Helen J, Rolfe, which is ideal for this time of year!

2- What happens when an anonymous donor pays to have the church furnace repaired, and other locals suddenly find solutions to their problems. Is it coincidental, or the work of a secret angel?

3- I enjoyed On Christmas Hill because it’s so easy to love, so delightful to read, and so hard to forget. I read it last Christmas, but I’m looking forward to rereading it again!

4- A Christmas Ghost Story. A great tragedy occurred in 1899, in the North Yorkshire market town of Thorpe Morton, 59 people died at the market hall whilst celebrating Christmas Eve, many of them children. One hundred years on and the spirits of the deceased are restless still, ‘haunting’ the community, refusing to let them forget. Psychic investigators Theo Lawson and Ness Patterson are called in to help the spirits move on, but can they?

5- The Christmas Gift. A former senior investigator for the Justice Department moves to Kentucky to take possession of an unexpected inheritance, and he falls in love with a beautiful interior decorator. Together, they attempt to protect an abandoned infant during the Christmas holiday season. Laura Taylor writes unforgettable love stories.

6- Winter Tales.  The Write Romantics present their first anthology of uplifting short stories perfect for this season. 

7- I love Ella Quinn’s well-written, Regency romances. Why not start with a free novella: Madeleine’s Christmas Wish?

 

****

There are few pleasures around Christmastime greater that a comfortable armchair, a glowing fire, a glass of wine (preferably white, Rueda de Verdejo), and a great book in your hands (preferably kindle, and occasionally paperback). Heaven… 

If any of you have written a novel including the Christmas theme and would like it to be featured, let me know in the comments below. 

If you have a favourite Christmas novel, let me know in the comments, too, so I can feature it.